An Exclusive Interview with ‘The Thundermans’ Star Addison Riecke

Addison Riecke

Addison Riecke

Addison Riecke may be but just 11 years old, but she is one fierce young lady. Not only does she have a promising acting career, she plays three different instruments, is currently writing a children’s book and she finds time to do a lot of charitable work – the girl is making moves! But as busy as she is, she always manages to look super cute in her signature hair bows.

Riecke plays Nora on the hit show The Thundermans on Nick, and the young powerhouse gives The Daily Quirk a breakdown of what the show is all about. “It’s about a family with superpowers that moves to the suburbs to try and live a normal life and they have to keep their super powers a secret.”

Riecke describes her character Nora, as charming and sweet with a sarcastic side – oh and with laser vision. We can’t forget that.

Riecke had only been acting for just a few months when the audition for the role came about. “I wasn’t really nervous but I was really excited,” she explained. “When I heard I was moving on in the audition process, it was really exciting because I have never gotten anything like this before! I never ever thought I’d be here at the end of the second season.”

Riecke also explains that her and her character, Nora, are very similar. “She’s very funny and sweet, we’re alike in a lot of ways. We have the same fashion sense and we both try to be beyond our years, but what I really love about her is that she shows a sensitive side sometimes too.” And you know by fashion sense, she means those infamous bows.

“Since I was a little baby my mom would always dress me in little bows because I looked more like a boy!” Riecke joked. “It was always a good way for my parents to spot me out, like oh look, there’s Addison, there’s the bow! It just kind of stuck to me when I got older. During the audition process, I wore a little headband with a bow on it and so Nora wears bows also!”

The hair bows have become so synonymous with Riecke that we had to know– will she make her own fashion line of hair accessories? “I would love to do that!” Riecke exclaimed. “Maybe some time in the future, I think that would be really cool.”

Before she landed the role on Nick, Riecke attended the 2012 International Presentation of Performance (IPOP) and rocked it, winning child actor of the year, best child monologue and best child beauty commercial. “It was one of the most amazing experiences that I’ve had in my life. It was going to kick start my acting career and I learned so many things and met so many friends and especially to earn all of those awards was amazing,” she said. “I had always felt a passion for acting but when I went to IPOP and actually did it I knew that’s what I wanted to do with my life.”

AR_003

Addison Riecke

But acting isn’t her only passion. “I play the guitar, the piano and the ukulele,” Riecke said. “I have loved music since I was about 3 years old when I could really comprehend what music was. It’s one of the great passions that I have.” When asked if she had to pick anyone in the world, alive or not, to play with, Riecke said that she would love to play with Jeff Buckley or The Beatles.

Riecke is also involved in a lot of charity work. For her 11th birthday, she asked for her guests to bring pet toys and supplies in lieu of birthday presents. She then donated those pet supplies to a local animal adoption center.

“I think it’s one of my main things to give back to all these people.” Riecke said about her charity work. “I feel in my heart that I always want to do as much as I can for my community, even if it’s something really little. I just always want to give back.”

With acting, music and her charity work, you would think Riecke would be too busy for anything else, but the list of goes on. She loves to spend time with her friends and family in Louisiana, she’s into soccer, swimming and many other sports, and she’s currently writing a children’s book. When asked if she has any future plans besides all of the above she said she would love to add traveling to that list.

At 11 years old, Riecke just may be beyond her years but she wants young ladies her age to know one thing:

“Never give up, always stay true to yourself no matter what people say.”

For more on Addison Riecke, follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

TDQ Tags TDQCorrespondent012

Leave a comment